2017 BOOKS CHALLENGES

The world seems to be in sync lately and it feels like everyone is turning inward and trying to find ways to dampen the noise a bit. Smarter people than I will analyze this time, but I think we’re all feeling overwhelmed by the constant tragedies everywhere around the world that we are constantly made aware of. There is too much – every corner of the world – the fingers in the dyke just can’t holding it back anymore and no true solutions seem on the horizon. So we hunker down, do what we can, where we can and focus on peace, grace and kindness. Hygge is everywhere I turn – love that – and am finding ways to incorporate more of it into my life. My word for 2017 is introspection and book challenges are one of the ways I’ll be honoring it.

2017 NETFLIX AND BOOKS CHALLENGE

This fun challenge was the brainchild of Lauren at Bookmark Lit and Erica at Novel ink. I love that they’ve combined binge watching Netflix with getting lost in books – two of my favorite things.

For this challenge, I’ve chosen the following:

  1. Trope – I’m reading The Unbroken Line of the Moon by Johanne Hildebrandt and finally getting around to watching Vikings. About 100 pages and two episodes in and completely absorbed in their world – Freyr and Odin abound!
  2. Mentioned – I’m taking the obvious on this one and going with Gilmore Girls – Rory’s reading list is well over 300 books! I’m reading her beloved Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. About 25% in and truly wishing I hadn’t seen the movie versions before reading this beautiful book.
  3. Title – On my bookshelf for about year now, sits Some Luck by Jane Smiley. I’m looking forward to also tackling my TBRs  so will read this and watch Lucky Man.
  4. Inspired – Arthur Conan Doyle’s A Study in Scarlet will be the perfect reading for watching BBC’s Sherlock. Or maybe Elementary.
  5. Setting – Visiting London via Ian McEwen’s Saturday and BBC’s Luther.
  6. Era – Back to the gay 90’s for this one with Wharton’s House of Mirth and BBC’s Murdoch Mysteries.
  7. Character – Another classic, Jane Eyre, and Jane the Virgin will do nicely here.
  8. Reviews – I’ll be reading Memoir with Gyrkes and Turlows that rates a 1 on Goodreads and has also been sitting on my bookshelf for too long and watching Houdini and Doyle which is apparently in the top ten of shows with poor reviews.
  9. Spin-off – I am thrilled to be putting Jeanette Winterson’s Gap of Time here since I’m dying to read it. It, and all the Hogarth Shakespeare books. And I’ll be watching Once Upon a Time.

Thank you Lauren and Erica – brilliant challenge!

Leave a Reply

