2017 Yarn Art Challenges

I learned how to crochet as a child, but haven’t in decades. My grandmother always did and lately I miss her more and more. Off and on over the years I’ve knitted. I learned in domestic arts class back in middle school. I found it easier than crochet so I kept it up. I’m not great at it by any means – mostly scarves, a few hats, a purse once and a 7-day afghan that took me about 10 years. In keeping with my Hygge goals for the year, I’ve decided to spend more time with colorful, soft, squishy yarn. Makes me smile just thinking about it.

I’m going to hook it again and join Attic24’s Moorland CAL. I had to after I saw her yarn art vision of the UK’s moors. Stunning. Seriously. What colours. I want those wrapped around me on cold, gray days. I’ll listen to Wuthering Heights while I crochet this. That just feels right. And I don’t think that type of multi-tasking is contrary to Hygge.

I’m knitting a temperature afghan. They look fun, simple and colorful and what a great way to remember my time in Bulgaria. I’m adding a row of white when it snows. A magical 3 feet in the past 24 hours. I started logging temps on New Year’s Day and my Drops Nepal from Wool Warehouse should be here any day.

The temperature afghan as a remembrance of Bulgaria got me thinking. I should make an afghan to remember each of the countries I’ve served in. I call it my Where in the World afghan. Buying stuff everywhere gets old and takes up too much space. So back to that yarn candy shop otherwise known as Wool Warehouse for some Malabrigo wool. Red Java for South Africa, Applewood for Jordan, Verdes for Ethiopia and Alpine Pearl for Bulgaria. Meaningful.

I’m knitting socks using Winwick Mum‘s Basic 4-ply pattern and the magic loop method. First time of both for me. It’s Azuri sock yarn from Turkey that I bought locally at Prejdi and I like the way it’s knitting up – purples to pinks to grays and back again. Yarngasm has a Box-O-Sox KAL again this year so I’m aiming for a full box come New Year’s Eve.

And then there’s the holy grail of Fair Isle or Nordic knitting. I’ve always loved this, but never had the nerve to try it. It looks so complicated! The patterns are not written in the usual stitch, but are a graph of colours and design. There are multiple skeins being used simultaneously. Aagh. But I breathe deeply and remember my Hygge focus and think this is the year to try it. Besides my DNA says I’m 48% Scandinavian – surely I have some sort of colourwork knitting ability in my genes.

I’ll be hosting our next yarn get-together. Because really, what’s more Hygge than sitting around with friends – knitting, eating comfort foods, drinking hot beverages and chatting the hours away in winter. Those Scandinavians have it all figured out.

 

Leave a Reply

